We design
Transformation

expertise

Spaces live through change. Urban Catalyst develops spaces in transformation. For more than twenty years we have been working in fields of tension and discourse on future issues on a local and global, from micro to meta level.

In open, dynamic processes we co-productively develop plans and models for spaces in transformation, new visions of the future and creative strategies for their implementation. We do field research, involve local people and design a better city together.

 

We focus on participation,
communication & visualization

expertise

Our key to success is communication. We see ourselves as "translators" who combine planning expertise with positions from administration, economy and civil society.  

For complex tasks, we develop and design coherent, inclusive and participative planning processes that become a clear compass for the future for all those involved. This makes unusual and creative solutions conceivable and planning becomes a communicative and inspiring process.

We develop cooperatively
strategic master concepts

expertise

Our strategic concepts for neighborhoods, cities and regions detect the forces of spatial change and turn institutions, initiatives, local actors, planning authorities and external experts into idea generators in the planning process.

Step by step, we develop reliable strategic overall concepts, mission statements and visions for cities and regions. They grow along with us as the places take shape.

We think digitization
and urban development together

expertise

How can new technologies, data and applications contribute to a sustainable and socially just city? We accompany and advise municipalities on the topic of Smart City. 

In our application-oriented research, we are jointly developing new ways of using digitization in line with local urban development objectives and assessing the associated risks. Our understanding is based on a holistic and spatial approach that puts digital innovations at the service of a sustainable and resilient city.

We advise cities
and urban actors

expertise

Urban Catalyst advises national and international decision-makers on strategic development issues and on the formulation of new political approaches.

We develop expertise and innovative networking formats to strengthen cities and urban actors in managing transformation processes towards more sustainability. We have relevant knowledge on relevant sustainability agendas as well as on the challenges at the municipal planning level.

We combine local practice with sound
science and an international perspective

expertise

In recent years, we have increasingly tested innovative strategies at the interfaces of research, administration and actor levels. We develop recommendations for action and guidelines that are not only future-oriented but also practical.

Urban Catalyst is always part of research collaborations involving leading universities, international organizations, local authorities and experts.



We convey
our knowledge

UC Academy

In the UC Academy, we impart our extensive knowledge of current topics and methodological approaches to  urban development in various modules.

The modules are structured as cooperative workshops. Expert input, teamwork on case studies, joint discussions and innovative formats create new and inspiring perspectives for your own work.

Wir gestalten
Transformation

Kompetenzen

Räume leben durch Veränderung. Urban Catalyst entwickelt Räume in Transformation. Seit mehr als zwanzig Jahren bewegen wir uns in Spannungs­feldern und Diskursen um Zukunftsfragen auf lokaler und globaler, von Mikro- bis Meta-Ebene.

In offenen, dynamischen Prozessen entwickeln wir ko-produktiv Planungen und Modelle für Räume in Veränderungen, neue Zukunfts­visionen und kreative Strategien für die Umsetzung. Wir machen Feld­forschung, binden Menschen vor Ort ein und entwerfen gemeinsam eine bessere Stadt.

 

Wir setzen auf Beteiligung,
Kommunikation & Visualisierung

Kompetenzen

Unser Schlüssel zum Erfolg ist Kommunikation. Wir verstehen uns als „Übersetzer*innen“, die planerisches Fachwissen mit Positionen aus Verwaltung, Ökonomie und Zivilgesellschaft verknüpfen. 

Für komplexe Aufgabenstellungen entwickeln und gestalten wir schlüssige, inklusive und partizipative Planungsprozesse, die für alle Beteiligten zu einem klaren Zukunftskompass werden. So werden ungewöhnliche und kreative Lösungen denkbar und Planung wird zu einem kommunikativen und inspirierenden Prozess.

Wir entwickeln kooperativ
strategische Gesamtkonzepte

Kompetenzen

Unsere strategischen Konzepte für Quartiere, Städte und Regionen spüren die Kräfte räumlicher Veränderung auf, machen Institutionen, Initiativen, lokale Akteure, Planungs­behörden und externe Fachleute zu Ideengeber*innen im Planungsprozess.

Schritt für Schritt entwickeln wir belastbare strategische Gesamtkonzepte, Leitbilder und Visionen für Städte und Regionen. Sie wachsen mit, während die Orte Gestalt annehmen.

Wir denken Digitalisierung
und Stadtentwicklung zusammen

Kompetenzen

Wie können neue Technologien, Daten und Anwendungen zu einer nachhaltigen und sozial-gerechten Stadt beitragen? Wir begleiten und beraten Kommunen zum Themenfeld Smart City. 

In unserer anwendungsorientierten Forschung entwickeln wir gemeinsam neue Wege, die Digitalisierung im Sinne lokaler Stadtentwicklungsziele zu nutzen und damit verbundene Risiken abzuschätzen. Unser Verständnis beruht auf einem holistischen und räumlichen Ansatz, der digitale Innovationen in den Dienst einer nachhaltigen und resilienten Stadt stellt.

Wir beraten
Städte und urbane Akteur*innen

Kompetenzen

Urban Catalyst berät nationale und internationale Entscheidungs­träger*innen in strategischen Entwicklungsfragen und bei der Formulierung neuer politischer Handlungsansätze.

Wir entwickeln Expertisen und innovative Vernetzungsformate, um Städte und urbane Akteure bei der Bewältigung von Transformationsprozessen zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit zu stärken. Wir verfügen sowohl über einschlägige Kenntnisse zu relevanten Nachhaltigkeitsagenden als auch zu den Herausforderungen auf kommunaler Planungsebene.

Wir verbinden lokale Praxis mit fundierter
Wissenschaft und einer internationalen Perspektive

Kompetenzen

In den letzten Jahren haben wir verstärkt an den Schnittstellen von Forschungs-, Verwaltungs- und Akteursebenen innovative Strategien erprobt. Wir entwickeln Handlungsempfehlungen und Leitfäden, die nicht nur zukunftsweisend, sondern auch praxistauglich sind.

Urban Catalyst ist immer wieder Teil von Forschungskooperationen, zu denen führende Universitäten, internationale Organisationen, Kommunen und Experten*innen gehören.



Wir vermitteln
unser Wissen

UC Academy

In der UC Academy vermitteln wir in unterschiedlichen Modulen unser umfangreiches Wissen zu aktuellen Themen und methodischen Ansätzen der Stadtentwicklung.

Die Module sind als kooperative Workshops aufgebaut. Experteninputs, Teamarbeit an Fallstudien, gemeinsame Diskussionen und innovative Formate schaffen neue, inspirierende Perspektiven für die eigene Arbeit.